Dissertation Proposal Defense - Jenni Lee - Aug 8

Date: August 8, 2016
Time: 2:30 p.m.
Location: Natural Resources RM 130

Exploring current and potential tourist behavior in the Great Lakes region

Dissertation proposal defense


Jenni Lee

8th August, 2016

2:30 p.m.

Room 130, Natural Resources Building


The research is divided into two main studies with one focused on sustainable tourism development and the other concerning cross-cultural tourists’ behavior. The main purpose of the dissertation is to better understand and thus promote sustainable tourism development in the Great Lakes States. This is done by a study of current winery tourists in Minnesota and Wisconsin and another study of potential Chinese tourists who already reside in Michigan. 

Wine tourism relies heavily on positive visitor experiences at wineries. Understanding wine tourism visitors has become an important strategy to attract more visitors to Great Lakes states, add value to existing agriculture and lengthen stays in the region through providing more attractive, sustainable tourism products. The primary objectives of this study are to profile wine tourists based on wine-related lifestyle, their perceived values toward wineries and their complementary tourism activities on winery related trips. 

This second study will investigate Chinese business persons who are working in Michigan, as actual and potential tourists in Michigan. The study will identify their perceived image of Michigan tourism attributes, their travel expectations and the most important attributes that lead to positive attitudes toward visiting Michigan tourism destinations. The study also investigates the impacts of their significant others on tourism behaviors and plans. It will also examine constraints that influence their tourism intentions and behaviors. Lastly, since they are living in Michigan, their levels of acculturation will be added as a control variable.

Committee members:

  • Dr. Charles Nelson (Department of Community Sustainability), Chairperson
  • Dr. Richard Paulsen (Department of Community Sustainability)
  • Dr. Dan McCole (Department of Community Sustainability)
  • Dr. Mary Bresnahan (Department of Communication)