Technical Management Advisory Committee

The Technical Management Advisory Committee (TMAC) advises the Legume Innovation Lab on strategic planning and monitors projects. The Management Office (MO) consults with TMAC on emerging issues and technologies, strategies for building sustainable institutional capacity and achieving development impacts, and program management approaches.
The committee assists in the monitoring and evaluation of the Legume Innovation Lab, including:
  • Reviewing project workplans and performance indicators
  • Monitoring the scientific quality and productivity of projects and recommending adjustments
  • Identifying and advising the MO on strategic topical areas for future RFPs
The TMAC is composed of nine members: two external individuals of international stature, one industry representative, two representatives from CGIAR, three Legume Innovation Lab PIs, and the AOR (who will have a vote).

The TMAC will be formed after the subawards are selected and partner institutions identified. The non-Legume Innovation Lab external members will be appointed by the MO in consultation with the AOR for the duration of the Leader award based on their qualifications and experience. The three internal members (CRSP PIs) will be elected by the PIs for staggered two-year terms of service.

The TMAC will hold three face-to-face meetings over the award period but will conduct most of its business through conference calls and electronic communication.
TMAC Members for 2015
Dr. Julia Kornegay, North Carolina State University
Dr. Constance Gewa, George Mason University
Dr. Johannes Lehmann. Cornell University
Dr. Robin Buruchara,  Pan-Africa Bean Research Alliance (PABRA) and
     Kwanda Agriculture Research Institute
Dr. Ousmane Boukar, IITA, Ibadan, Nigeria
Dr. Steve Beebe, CIAT, Cali, Colombia (alternate)
Greg Varner, Michigan Bean Commission 
Principal Investigators
Dr. Clementine Dabire Binso, Institut de l'Environnement et de Recherches Agricoles (INERA), Burkina Faso
Dr. Mark Manary, Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis
Dr. Phillip McClean, North Dakota Stata University
Jennifer "Vern" Long, Bureau of Food Security

Return to Top

Michigan State University Michigan State University Close Menu button Menu and Search button Open Close