AFRE Alumni news Summer 2014

AFRE Alumni news Summer 2014

September 26, 2014


Robert P. King (Ph.D., 1979; M.S., 1977), professor of applied economics at the University of Minnesota, was named an AAEA Fellow at the Minneapolis AAEA meeting, July 27-28, 2014.



June C. Grabemeyer (M.S., 1987), who retired at the end of 2013 as the Natural Resources Conservation Service agricultural economist for Michigan, was honored by the USDA Economists Group as the USDA Economist of the Year in February 2014 for her work in conservation economics.

Rudy Ooijen (M.S., 1985) is living in the Netherlands and working as a freelancer after 17 years with Netherlands Economic Institute (NEI; now called ECORYS Netherlands).  As a staff economist for NEI, he led missions in public finance and debt management in Africa and Latin America.  His current focus is mainly on evaluating agricultural and rural development programs financed by the EU. Many of the missions are in sub-Saharan Africa, and quite a few of them are on sugar cane production and processing.  He also did a sugar mission in Belize two years ago and more recently evaluated the EU’s integrated rural development program there.  Contact Rudy at



Cheryl J. Wachenheim (Ph.D., 1994; M.S., 1991), professor of agribusiness and applied economics at North Dakota State University, received the AAEA Distinguished Teaching Award for Undergraduate Teaching, Ten or More Years' Experience, at the Minneapolis AAEA meeting, July 27-28, 2014.



Domenico Dentoni has taken the position of assistant professor in the Management Studies Group of Wageningen University.    He worked previously at the University of Adelaide in the Australian Seafood Cooperative Research Centre.

David Gebben (M.S., 2008) took an economist position with RTI International Health Solutions in Research Triangle Park, N.C., starting Aug. 25, 2014.

Blessing Maumbe (Ph.D., 2001) took a position as associate professor of agribusiness in the Institute of Agriculture and the Environment at Massey University in New Zealand, effective July 2013.  He had previously taught at West Virginia University.



Tim Komarek (Ph.D., 2012; M.S., 2010) took the position of assistant professor of economics in the Strome College of Business at Old Dominion University, effective July 2014. During 2012-14, he worked as assistant professor at Valdosta State University in Georgia.

Ty Lawson (M.S., 2012) has been named a Presidential Management Fellow in the Office of the Director of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). The PMF program is a two-year leadership development program in the U.S. government for recent advanced degree graduates.

Nathalie Me-Nsope (Ph.D., 2014) was named specialist responsible for the gender team of the Global Center for Food Systems Innovation (GCFSI) at MSU.

Alexandra Peralta (Ph.D., 2014) took a position as university lecturer at the University of Adelaide in South Australia.

Paige van Poppelen (M.S., 2014) joined the NPD Group in Rosemont, Illinois, as an account associate on June 30, 2014.  She works on market research in the food services industry. 

Aleksan Shanoyan (Ph.D., 2011), assistant professor at Kansas State University, advised K-State’s AAEA grad case study at the summer meetings in Minneapolis, July 27-28, 2014.

Helder Zavale (Ph.D., 2014) took a position as assistant professor at Universidade Eduardo Mondlane in Maputo, Mozambique.

Michigan State University Michigan State University Close Menu button Menu and Search button Open Close