Extension and AgBioResearch Council

            ''

Photograph from the MSU Extension and AgBioResearch 2015 Fall Meeting in Paw Paw, Mich.

Michigan State University Extension and MSU AgBioResearch link the issues of concern in local communities with the research and teaching at the state’s land grant university.

A network for organized citizen input at the local and state levels enhances that linkage. County Extension councils identify and prioritize issues, seek collaborations and resources, and communicate to others the importance of Extension’s educational programming. Advisory councils help establish research priorities at the state’s 14 AgBioResearch centers located throughout the state.

The MSU Extension and AgBioResearch Council serves as a liaison between county councils, field station advisory groups and state agencies and organizations. Members are able to communicate to others (policymakers, organizations and agencies, university administrators, etc.) the importance of the educational programming and the applied research from Michigan’s land grant university.

The MSU Extension and AgBioResearch Council was founded in 1998 to help Michigan State University Extension and the AgBioResearch link the issues of concern in local communities with the research and teaching at the state's land grant university.

2017 MSU Extension and AgBioResearch State Council Members

Extension Council Members

Joe Bonovetz
MSU Extension District 1: Baraga, Dickinson, Gogebic, Houghton, Iron, Keweenaw, Marquette, Menominee, Ontonagon
Email: joecarl381@gmail.com

Doug Bovin
MSU Extension District 2: Alger, Chippewa, Delta, Luce, Mackinac, Schoolcraft
Email: bonniebovin@hotmail.com

Bernie Ware
MSU Extension District 3: Antrim, Benzie, Charlevoix, Cheboygan, Emmet, Grand Traverse, Kalkaska, Leelanau, Manistee
Email: warefarm@centurytel.net 

VACANT

MSU Extension District 4: Alcona, Arenac, Crawford, Ogemaw, Oscoda, Roscommon

Bill Anderson
MSU Extension District 5: Lake, Mason, Muskegon, Newaygo, Oceana
Email: banderson38@charter.net

Katherine Methner
MSU Extension District 6: Clare, Gladwin, Isabella, Mecosta, Missaukee, Osceola
Email:  kmethner@michworks4u.org

Nora Balgoyen-Williams
MSU Extension District 7: Allegan, Kent, Ottawa
Email: nbalgoyen@itctransco.com

Sandy Dargatz
MSU Extension District 8: Barry, Clinton, Eaton, Gratiot, Ingham, Ionia, Montcalm
Email: sdargatz@ingham.org

Omar Sims
MSU Extension District 9: Bay, Genesee, Midland, Shiawassee
Email: omarsims@gmail.com

Carl Osentoski
MSU Extension District 10: Lapeer, Huron, Sanilac, St. Clair, Tuscola
Email:  carl@huroncounty.com

Joie West
MSU District 11: Macomb
Email: west.joie@gmail.com

A.C. Alrey
MSU District 11: Oakland
Email: acalrey@msu.edu

Julie Walker
MSU District 11: Wayne
Email:  munich0567@aol.com

Londa Pickles
MSU District 12: Hillsdale, Jackson, Lenawee, Livingston
Email:  londa@gurdjian.com

Dionisio Sanchez
MSU District 13: Berrien, Branch, Calhoun, Cass, Kalamazoo, St. Joseph, Van Buren
Email:  sanchezdbbcmw@gmail.com

Brad Jensen
MSU District 14: Alpena, Charlevoix, Cheboygan, Emmet, Montmorency, Ostego, Presque Isle
Email: brad@huronpines.org

AgBioResearch Council Members

Mary Kelpinski
Email:  kelpinski@mipork.org

John Mossner
Email: jcmossner@hotmail.com

Jim Nugent
Email: jimnugent6@gmail.com

Member-at-large

Gary Voogt
Email: gcvoogt@gmail.com

Mark Torregrossa
Email: markt@speednetllc.com

Diane Smith
Email: diane@michiganapples.com

Thomas Voigts
Email: tvoigts@frontier.com

Steve Yanni
Email: syanni@bmcc.edu 

Council for Agriculture, Research, Extension and Teaching (CARET)

Doug Lewis
Email: decowboy@umich.edu

Glenn Preston
Email: glennandsuzy@gmail.com

Char Wenham
Email: cwenham@woodstaffing.com

Resources

Meeting Resources

Important Links

Contact

If you have any questions about Extension and AgBioResearch Council, please contact Katie Nicpon, program assistant, at freykath@anr.msu.edu or 517-353-9464.

Jeff Dwyer, MSU Extension Director
Dru Montri, Director of Governmental Affairs and Stakeholder Relations for the MSU College of Agriculture and Natural Resources
Doug Buhler, AgBioResearch Director 

Michigan State University Michigan State University Close Menu button Menu and Search button Open Close