Private gifts play a critical role in maintaining and advancing the educational experience in the Department of Agricultural, Food, and Resource Economics (AFRE) at Michigan State University. Your donations in support of student scholarships, research, faculty development, and student activities provide the extra resources that enhance the educational experience. Private financial support from alumni and friends has become a major and growing source of revenue to enhance programs and create new initiatives in the Department.

Thanks for Your Help
AFRE appreciates dedicated supporters who know and value our high-quality research and extension in the following four categories: international development, environmental and resource economics, food and resource industry management, and regional growth strategies.  

Give to AFRE 

Types of Funds Available for Giving
Consider making an annual gift or multi-year pledge to support the Department. The list below describes the funds available.

To make a gift online, choose the name of a fund below, then cut-and-paste it into the “Areas to Support: Search for Funds” box on the Giving To MSU website. Please contact the Department Chair if you wish to give by check, make an in-kind donation, give as part of an estate plan, or if you wish to create a new endowment.

The Department offers a menu of ways to provide support. There are three broad categories below: 1) General support, 2) Student scholarships, and 3) Topic area funds.

1. General Support

Meets most pressing needs, including scholarships, technology upgrades, student activities, research, and outreach:

  • Agricultural, Food and Resource Economics Discretionary Fund
  • Dale E. Hathaway Memorial Endowment in Agricultural, Food and Resource Economics

2. Scholarships, fellowships, and professional development of students, staff and faculty

  • Department of Agricultural Economics Enhancement Endowment
  • Manderscheid Endowed Fund to Support Agricultural Economics
Student scholarships:
All Students (undergraduate or graduate)
  • David Schweikhardt Scholarship in Agricultural, Food, and Resource Economics. For upper level undergraduate or graduate students with interests in agricultural and food policy.
  • Harsh Family Agribusiness Scholarship. For students studying agribusiness, with preference for those interested in production agriculture or the input sector that supports it.
  • John (Jake) and Maxine Ferris Global Agribusiness Award Endowment. Undergraduate and graduate student awards for overseas study programs, field trips, international internships and international agri-business competitions. 
  • Mary D. Zehner Fund in Agricultural, Food and Resource Economics. Student scholarships  with special consideration for supporting a culture of diversity and inclusion.
Undergraduate Students
  • Dr. Jack Allen and Dr. Tom Pierson Scholarship Endowment. For students enrolled in the Food Industry Management program to support their travel expenses associated with 1) participation at professional conferences, seminars, and meetings, or 2) study or travel abroad that is preceded by non-English language studies and cultural orientation.
  • Glynn McBride Michigan Association of Farmer Cooperatives Endowed Scholarship. For students pursuing a career in the development, sustainability, and advancement of agricultural cooperatives.
  • Harry A. Foster Endowed Scholarship. For students majoring in Agribusiness Management with a specialization in Horticulture or majoring in Horticulture with a specialization in Agribusiness Management.
  • James D. Giannestras Memorial Scholarship in Food Industry Management. For students majoring in Food Industry Management demonstrating academic achievement, extra-curricular activities and a passion for the food industry.
  • Kenneth E. and Eleanor M. Coulter Endowed Scholarship. For students pursuing a career in Agricultural Economics. Preference is given to graduates of high schools Arenac, Bay, Midland, Iosco, and Isabella counties.
  • Ralph E. and Patricia A. Hepp Undergraduate Scholarship Fund. General support for scholarships for undergraduate students enrolled in the AFRE department.
  • Redmond and Edna Cotter Agribusiness Scholarship Endowment. For students interested in pursuing an agri-business career. 
Graduate Students
  • A. Allan Schmid Endowed Fellowship in Institutional Economics. For thesis research to improve the discipline of institutional and behavioral economics.
  • Carol C. Gustafson and Gary S. Murphy Endowed Scholarship. Established to support students pursuing a doctoral degree.
  • Charles H.C. Kao International Student Scholarship. For international graduate students in financial need.
  • Dr. Thomas K. Cowden Memorial Fund. Established to provide support for graduate students to attend professional meetings.
  • Glenn and Sandy Johnson Fellowship Endowment. Established to provide support to doctoral students in the Department of Agricultural Economics.
  • Henry and Annabel Larzelere Graduate Fellowships Endowment. For graduate students with interests in agribusiness management and marketing. Preference to poultry marketing and pricing, cooperative business management, or futures markets.
  • Lane and Virginia Holdcroft Endowed Graduate Fellowship for African Development. Established to support the training of graduate students with an interest in international development, with a preference for those with interests in community and rural development in African countries.
  • Seevers Graduate Scholars Program. Graduate assistantship or fellowship support to newly enrolling graduate students.

3. Topic Area Funds

  • Elton R. Smith Endowed Chair. Dedicated to research, extension and teaching in agricultural and environmental policy issues.
  • Resource Economics. To meet needs in the area of Resource Economics.
  • Stephen B. and Karen L. Harsh Agribusiness Outreach Endowment. For enhancing outreach activities with respect to addressing critical issues confronting Michigan agribusinesses, especially in production agriculture.
Ready to give to AFRE? Head over to Giving To MSU.