Graduate Awards

Outstanding MS and PhD Students

The awards for the Outstanding Master’s Student and Ph.D. Student are based on academic performance, scholarly activities, service to the department, college and university and service to the greater community. Students chosen for these awards are all-around exceptional students. To qualify for the Master’s award, a student must be at least one year into their program, and to qualify for the Ph.D. award, the student must have completed the comprehensive exam.


The 2019 Outstanding MS Student is Emily Middleton (advisor Richard Pursley)
The 2019 Outstanding PhD Student is Dr. Carly O'Malley (advisor Janice Siegford)

Outstanding Teaching Award

The outstanding teaching award is given to a student who has devoted significant time to the development and delivery of classroom material.

The 2019 Outstanding Teaching Award recipient is Abby Pritchard (advisor Brian Nielsen)

Jacob A. Hoefer Award

The Jacob (Jake) A. Hoefer Endowed Fellowship in Animal Science is a one-time cash award of at least $2,000 to recognize an outstanding PhD candidate in the Department of Animal Science.

The purpose is to encourage competitiveness for future employment of PhD candidates in Animal Science. Applicants must apply for a position in their area of interest and present an interview seminar to an Evaluation Committee. The format for the seminar is similar to that required during an interview for a position in the applicant’s area of expertise.

Eligible students must have passed their comprehensive exams and be a PhD candidate in the Department of Animal Science. (Students who have already won the award are not eligible.)

Applicants are evaluated on their competitiveness for the position for which they are applying based upon their academic record, scholarly activity, cover letter, curriculum vita, presentation and answers to questions.

The 2019 Jacob A. Hoefer Award recipient is Katie Kennedy (advisor Mike Allen)


Contact Karla Macelli for more information about these awards and application deadlines.

2017 ANS Graduate Student Awards

The Outstanding MS Student for 2017 is Paige Stanley.

Paige Stanley and Dr. Mike Allen

The Outstanding PhD Student for 2017 is Kaitlyn Daza.

Kaitlyn Daza and Dr. Mike Allen

The 2017 Outstanding Teaching Award recipient is Martin Carrasquillo-Mangual.

Martin Carrasquillo Mangual and Dr. Mike Allen

The 2017 Jacob A. Hoefer Award recipient is Deborah Velez.

Deborah Velez and Dr. Mike Allen