Great Lakes Aquaculture Day 2020

October 10, 2020 9:30 am - 5:30 pm EST

Online via Zoom


Contact: Elliot Nelson, MIchigan Sea Grant Extension

The Great Lakes Aquaculture Day is a chance for those interested in aquaculture, and its products, to learn more. Presentations, panel discussions, and cooking demos will happen throughout the day. The day is split into three sections,

  • Introduction to Aquaculture for interested individuals
  • Aquaculture tips and tricks for current farmers
  • Cooking and seafood marketing demonstrations
    • A cooking demonstration with Chef Jeff Igel, from the Wisconsin Technical College, followed by a cooking competition featuring three culinary students from the Great Lakes region will close out the day. Each student will be required to use a key ingredient and local aquaculture products in their creation.

      Want to compete? The Great Lakes Aquaculture Collaborative is currently accepting applications from post-secondary students for the competition and those chosen will receive a $250 stipend.

All are welcome to attend any part of the day. You are free to join or leave at any point depending on your available time. The conference takes place via Zoom Technology (link will be emailed to registrants).

Hosted by the Great Lakes Aquaculture Collaborative (GLAC)

Free admission! Register below in advance

Feel free to join when a topic sounds interesting! You may join or leave whenever your time permits. 

** Conference link will be live 30 minutes prior to welcome.**

Agenda

Time EST (CST)

Session Topic

Speaker(s)

Introduction

9:30 - 9:40 a.m. EST

(8:30 - 8:40 a.m. CST) 

Welcome! 

Amy Schrank - Great Lakes Aquaculture Collaborative Leadership

Mark Rath and Chuck Weirich - National Sea Grant

9:40 - 10 a.m. EST

(8:40 - 9 a.m. CST)

Keynote Address

Dr. Jesse Trushenski - Chief Science Officer, Riverence

Novice Farmers

10 - 10:20 a.m. EST

(9 - 9:20 a.m. CST)

How to get started in aquaculture 

Matt Smith - Ohio State University

10:20 - 10:40 a.m. EST

(9:20 - 9:40 a.m. CST)

System Types and Species in the North Central Region

Emma Wiermaa - Aquaculture Outreach Specialist, University of Wisconsin - Stevens Point Northern Aquaculture Demonstration Facility & Wisconsin Sea Grant

Break (5 min)

10:45 - 11:05 a.m. EST

(9:45 - 10:05 a.m. CST)

Best Management Practices

Stacy Schultz - Director of Marketing & Sustainability Coordinator, Fortune Fish & Gourmet

11:05 a.m. - 12 p.m. EST

(10:05 - 11 a.m. CST)

Panel Discussion: Pathways to success

Moderator: Emma Wiermaa

Panelists:

Steve Summerfelt - Superior Fresh (Aquaponics)

TBA - TBA (Flow-through)

Mike Brehm - Brehms Perch Farm (Split Ponds)

Lunch Break 

12 - 1:30 p.m. EST

(11 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. CST)

Breakout Rooms: 12:30 - 1:30 p.m. EST

(11:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. CST)

Optional: Informal breakout rooms. Discussion rooms with GLAC members by regions:

    Region/State

  • East (OH, NY, PA) 
  • South (IL, IN)
  • North (MN, WI, MI)
  • Other 

Current Farmers

1:30 - 2 p.m. EST

(12:30 - 1 p.m. CST)

Panel Discussion: Current Challenges and Potential Solutions in the Great Lakes Region

Moderator: Lauren Jescovitch

Panelists: 

Bill West - Blue Iris Fish Farm

Myron Kebus - Aquaculture Vet, 

Wisconsin Department of Agriculture

Alex Tsappis - US Aquaculture Business Manager, Alltech

2 - 2:30 p.m. EST

(1 - 1:30 p.m. CST)

Aquaculture during COVID 

Jonathan Van Senten - Assistant Professor, Virginia Tech

Trey Malone - Assistant Professor, Michigan State University

2:30 - 3:30 p.m. EST

(1:30 - 2:30 p.m. CST)

Panel Discussion: Technical Expertise/ professional development opportunities

Moderator: Lauren Jescovitch

Panelists:

Dennis McIntosh - US Aquaculture Society

Amy Stone - National Aquaculture Association

Mick Walsh - American Fisheries Society - Fish Culture Section

Matt Smith - North Central Regional Aquaculture Center

Chris Hartleb  - University of Wisconsin - Stevens Point Northern Aquaculture Demonstration Facility

Break (15min)

Farm to Plate & Consumers

3:45 - 4:15 p.m. EST

(2:45 - 3:15 p.m. CST)

Consumer Preferences

Kristen Runge - Communication Research Specialist, University of Wisconsin-Madison 

4:15 - 4:45 p.m. EST

(3:15 - 3:45 p.m. CST) 

How to choose and prepare high quality seafood

Chef Jeff Igel - Fox Valley Technical College

Wrap-Up

4:45 - 5 p.m. EST

(3:45 - 4 p.m. CST)

Conclusion

Amy Schrank - GLAC Leadership

5 - 5:30 p.m. EST

(4 - 4:30 p.m. CST)

Cooking Challenge!

Elliot Nelson - GLAC

Titus Seilheimer - GLAC

Cooking contestants TBA

Register

Get Directions

Tags: aquaponics, commercial fisheries, cooking, culinary, economic development, michigan sea grant, msu extension, professional development aquaculture, ras, seafood, virtual

Related People

Elliot Nelson

Elliot Nelson
elliotne@msu.edu