Faculty

  • Vance Baird

    Professor; Chair, Department of Horticulture
    Environmental stress; nuclear genome organization, gene expression.
    bairdw@msu.edu
    (517) 353-0361

  • Cornelius Barry

    Associate Professor
    Biochemical Evolution of Specialized Metabolism within the Solanaceae Family; Genetic Determinants of Fruit Quality and Ripening
    barrycs@msu.edu
    (517) 884-6959

  • Randy Beaudry

    Professor
    Postharvest biology and technology; controlled atmosphere storage of pome fruit, modified atmosphere packaging; sugarbeet storage, ripening biology and aroma volatile biochemistry.
    beaudry@msu.edu
    (517) 353-0303

  • Bridget Behe

    Professor
    Marketing of horticultural crops, both edible and ornamental
    behe@msu.edu
    (517) 353-0346

  • John Biernbaum, PhD

    Professor
    Organic crop production; production and use of compost for fertility, transplant media and water extracts (tea) for managing soil and plant health.
    biernbau@msu.edu
    (517) 353-0419

  • Daniel Brainard

    Associate Professor
    Development of reduced-tillage, cover-crop intensive vegetable production systems; weed ecology and management, with an emphasis on seed biology
    brainar9@msu.edu
    517-353-0417

  • Sushila Chaudhari

    Assistant Professor
    Weed Science
    sushilac@msu.edu
    517-353-0447

  • Dan Chitwood

    Assistant Professor
    Plant morphology, X-ray Computed Tomography, Topological Data Analysis
    chitwoo9@msu.edu
    (517) 353-0462

  • Bert Cregg

    Joint appointment with the Department of Forestry
    cregg@msu.edu
    517-353-0335

  • Marcus Duck

    Advisor and Instructor; Institute of Agricultural Technology Program Coordinator
    duckmarc@msu.edu
    517-353-0351

  • Patrick Edger

    Assistant Professor
    Polyploid Genomics
    edgerpat@msu.edu
    765-749-1496

  • Todd Einhorn

    Associate Professor
    Tree fruit physiology, plant-water relations, rootstock biology, plant growth regulation
    einhornt@msu.edu
    (517) 353-0430

  • Tom Fernandez

    Professor
    Sustainability of wholesale production nurseries, water management and quality
    fernan15@msu.edu
    517-353-0336

  • Kristin Getter

    Assistant Professor and Director of the MSU Horticulture Gardens
    getterk@msu.edu
    517-353-0341

  • Susan Gruber, M.S.

    HRT Advising
    grubers@msu.edu
    517-353-0326

  • Rebecca Grumet

    Professor
    Reproductive development in Cucumis; regulation of sex-expression; disease resistance; biotechnology biosafety; cucurbit genomics.
    grumet@msu.edu
    517-353-0431

  • Kyung-Hwan Han, Ph.D.

    Professor
    Molecular biology of secondary growth; secondary wall biosynthesis; feedstock development for bioenergy and biomaterials; drought tolerance
    hanky@msu.edu
    517-803-9418

  • Zachary Hayden

    Assistant Professor
    Soil and Nutrient Management for Vegetables
    haydenza@msu.edu
    (517) 353-0410

  • Courtney Hollender

    Assistant Professor
    Molecular Genetics, Plant Development, Fruit Tree Physiology
    chollend@msu.edu
    (517) 353-0446

  • Amy Iezzoni

    Professor
    Sour cherry breeding for fruit quality and disease resistance; cherry genetics; marker-assisted breeding; cherry rootstock selection.
    iezzoni@msu.edu
    517-353-0391

  • Jiming Jiang

    Professor
    Plant gene expression and regulation induced by environmental stresses
    jiangjm@msu.edu
    (517) 355-4042

  • Ning Jiang

    Professor
    Function of transposable elements; mechanisms of genome diversification; computational and molecular biology.
    jiangn@msu.edu
    517-353-0381

  • N. Suzanne Lang, PhD

    Associate Dean, Faculty and Administrative Affairs & Director CANR Faculty Development
    langsu@msu.edu
    517-353-8589

  • Gregory Lang

    Professor
    Tree fruit horticulture, physiology, and genetic evaluation, including high efficiency training systems and orchard climatic modification systems
    langg@msu.edu
    517-353-0388

  • Roberto Lopez

    Assistant Professor
    Controlled environment specialty crop production; Lighting applications for greenhouses and indoor vertical production; light-emitting diodes; young plant propagation.
    rglopez@msu.edu
    517-353-0342

  • Norm Lownds

    Associate Professor
    Youth education; using technology for experiential learning; 4-H Children’s Garden Director.
    lownds@msu.edu
    (517) 353-0349

  • Haddish Melakeberhan

    Associate Professor
    Integrated and sustainable nematode, nutrient cycling, and soil health management in cropping systems.
    melakebe@msu.edu
    (517) 355-4487

  • Muraleedharan Nair

    Professor
    Bioactive natural products: Functional foods and Phytoceuticals. Discovery, isolation, purification, identification and standardization of bioactive molecules; efficacy, dose and toxicity evaluation; formulation and process development.
    nairm@msu.edu
    (517) 353-0406

  • Brad Rowe

    Professor
    Green roof technology: plant evaluations, growing substrates, carbon sequestration, stormwater management, energy conservation.
    rowed@msu.edu
    (517) 353-0334

  • Erik Runkle

    Professor
    Lighting applications in greenhouses and indoor vertical farms; light-emitting diodes; greenhouse energy conservation; crop production in controlled environments
    runkleer@msu.edu
    (517) 353-0350

  • Paolo Sabbatini

    Associate Professor
    Grapevine physiology; photosynthetic carbon assimilation and partitioning; viticulture; cultivar evaluation of Michigan.
    sabbatin@msu.edu
    (517) 353-0302

  • Debalina Saha

    Assistant Professor
    Weed science and ecology as it relates to ornamental crop production (in the landscape, nursery, greenhouse and Christmas tree industries)
    sahadeb2@msu.edu
    (517) 353-0338

  • Dixie Sandborn

    Youth Science Educator
    dixie@msu.edu

  • Robert Schutzki

    Associate Professor
    Landscape horticulture; characterization of adaptive traits; plant physiological status during landscape establishment.
    schutzki@msu.edu
    517-353-0337

  • Guo-Qing Song

    Associate Professor
    Improvement of horticultural crops using genomics, genetic, and biotechnological tools; development of efficient plant micropropagation, regeneration and transformation techniques.
    songg@msu.edu
    (517) 353-0384

  • Steve van Nocker

    Professor
    Developmental genetics of plants, traits important for production including flowering, chromatin regulation of gene expression
    vannocke@msu.edu
    (517) 353-0394

  • Robert VanBuren

    Assistant Professor
    Integrative genomics, quantitative genetics, and plant evolution
    vanbur31@msu.edu
    517-353-0355

  • Ryan Warner

    Associate Professor
    Genetics of plant development; genomics-assisted breeding; marker-assisted selection; floriculture crops.
    warnerry@msu.edu
    (517) 353-0344

  • Bernard Zandstra

    Professor
    Weed control in fruit, vegetables, and Christmas trees; registration of new pesticides.
    zandstra@msu.edu
    (517) 353-6637