Board of Directors Volunteer Opportunity

Hiring Organization: Michigan Farmers Market Association
Employment type: Seasonal
Job Location: East Lansing, MI
Application Deadline: February 10, 2017

On behalf of the Board of Directors Nominating Committee, we are excited to announce that MIFMA’s Board of Directors elections will take place on Wednesday, March 8, 2017, at our Annual Meeting to be held in East Lansing during the Michigan Farmers Market Conference. Please join us in finding great candidates to lead MIFMA!

MIFMA’s bylaws specify an eleven-member Board. Four positions are to be held by farmers market representatives from around the state, two positions are to be held by Michigan farmers who sell their own products at farmers markets and five positions are to be held by professionals with a vested interest in MIFMA’s mission and vision. The mission of MIFMA is to advance farmers markets to create a thriving marketplace for local food and farm products.

The Nominating Committee is working to prepare a slate of candidates for MIFMA members to vote on and we need your input. This year we are specifically seeking professionals with expertise, experience and/or an interest in an area aligned with our strategic planning goals: fund development. We will take a team approach to fund development and are seeking individuals with experience leading fund development plans and advising on best practices for the nonprofit sector.

Please consider nominating yourself or a fellow MIFMA member. Board members serve on a volunteer basis and only one person per membership may serve on the Board at a time. The job is rewarding and we need people who are passionate about advancing Michigan farmers markets to join us in building the association.

Please review the enclosed Board member nomination packet, consider running for the MIFMA Board of Directors yourself, or nominate a fellow member. Nomination forms are due February 10, 2017.

Board member nomination packet:

Please contact the MIFMA office at (517) 432-3381 with any questions you may have regarding Board member nominations or this process.



Dru Montri
Executive Director

Sharon Ostrowski and Lisa Oliver-King
Board Members