Legacy Award

The Legacy Award was created to honor individuals and organizations for their outstanding dedication to the sport of rodeo, commitment to the growth of the MSU Rodeo Club, strengthening community partnerships through education and involvement while preserving the western heritage of the Spartan Stampede. Contributions of time and talents, both personally and professionally, though not publicly heralded and celebrated, are the foundation of the Spartan Stampede legacy.

Do you know someone deserving of this award? Fill out the Legacy Award Nomination form to nominate them and email it to rodeo@msu.edu.

Past Recipients of the Legacy Award

Star Hughston

Star Hughston 2024 (Photo by Rayne Sherman)


legacy 2.jpg

Tom VanCamp 2023


Legacy Award 2021 2022 Legacy

Terry and Tarrah Hanks 2022


2020 legacy.jpg

Tom and Sharon Tyler 2020


2019 Legacy Award Presentation

All 50 years or Rodeo Club Alumni 2019  


2018 Legacy

Michael Reinholm 2018


Bill Humphrey receiving the Legacy Award. 

Bill Humphrey 2017


Paul Streng pictured in the middle, between Dr. Brian Nielsen and Bill Humphrey 2016 legacy.jpg

Paul Streng 2016 (pictured in the middle back)


Legacy Award Presentation 2015 (1)

Dr. Brian Nielsen 2015


Picture of Jim Fusee, recipient of the Legacy Award.

Jim Fusee 2014