2016 LA Scholarship Fundraiser Golf Outing

This year's scholarship fundraiser, held at the picturesque Eagle Eye Golf Course, was historic on many levels.

Golfers gather before the shotgun start.
Golfers gather before the shotgun start.

This year’s scholarship fundraiser, held at the picturesque Eagle Eye Golf Course, was historic on many levels. First, the team hosted by Professor Paul Nieratko was not in the top three; the weather was fantastic; and the winning team’s age spread was 83 years!

Jim Carrier, Chris Wilczynski, Jennings Burley, Bill Pierce, and Bob Kretchman overcame the top-rated course with a winning scramble score of 55! The team, while excellent golfers unto themselves, capitalized on a unique rule allowing people eight years and younger to hit from the striped pole in the middle of the fairway on all par 4 and par 5 holes, from the beginning of each fairway on par 3 holes, and from the designated drop zone on the island green par 3. Noting this advantage, many teams are actively looking for young golfers under the age of 8 for next year! All kidding aside, Jennings Burley (age 6) has a natural swing and the winning team earned the top spot fair and square.

This year’s event raised $2,586 for landscape architecture scholarships. Thank you to all who participated in person or who sponsored and donated for the cause!


  • SmithGroup JJR.
  • Charlevoix Community Foundation.
  • Polakowski Family Fund.
  • Robert and Maria Lasky.
  • Robert and Dianna Leipprandt.
  • Professor Tim Mrozowski.

Event Sponsors

  • Beverage Cart, Landscape Forms, Inc.
  • Women’s Longest Drive, Beth and Steve Troost.
  • Women’s Closest to the Hole, Hank Byma.
  • Longest Putt, Charlevoix Community Foundation.

Tee Sponsors

  • Bauer-Ford Reclamation.
  • Garden Works Horticultural Services.
  • Jon Burley.
  • MSU Student Chapter of the ASLA.
  • MSU LA Club.
  • Landscape Forms, Inc.
  • The Naturalist.
  • Maureen and Paul Nieratko.
  • Danny Bulemore and Josh Seyfried.
  • Eagle Eye Golf Club.

Congratulations to the following individuals who demonstrated amazing skills on the course:

Women’s Longest Drive

Amy Broersma.

Men’s Longest Drive

Wes Landon.

Women’s Closest to the Pin

Maureen Nieratko.

Men’s Closest to the Pin

Paul Nieratko.

Longest Putt

Cole Mauti.

Did you find this article useful?

Other Articles from this Publication