AFRE People and Awards (Fall 2015)

Faculty and staff news

September 14, 2015

Titus Awokuse became AFRE’s Department Chairperson, effective August 16, 2016.  He was previously professor and chairperson of the Department of Applied Economics and Statistics at the University of Delaware.


David Hennessy joined the Department effective August 16, 2016 as Elton R. Smith Professor of Food and Agricultural Policy.  A Fellow of the Agricultural and Applied Economics Association, he was previously a professor at Iowa State University.  His office is 207 Morrill Hall of Agriculture.


Hongli Feng joined the Department effective August 16, 2016 as Associate Professor.  She came from Iowa State University, where she was previously adjunct associate professor.  Her office will be 401D Morrill Hall of Agriculture, effective October 1, 2015.


Dorothy Manderscheid, MSU mathematics librarian and widow of professor and former chairperson Lester Manderscheid, passed away at age 83 on Aug. 16, 2015, in East Lansing, Michigan. 



Student Awards and Honors

The MSU Case Study team of Tatevik Avetisyan, Andrea Leschewski, Kendra Levine and Leonard Polzin and advisor Brent Ross took first  place at the International Food and Agribusiness Management Association (IFAMA) Student Case Competition in St. Paul, MN, June 14-17, 2015.  (See accompanying news story.)

Michigan State University Michigan State University Close Menu button Menu and Search button Open Close