Faculty and Staff News

Faculty and Staff News

Assistant Professor Nicole Mason delivers “The Scoop on Fertilizer Subsidies” in the AgTalks series on IFAD TV.  The 20-minute online video was released May 20, 2015. 


Ruth Fienup, widow of Professor Darrell Fienup, passed away at age 85 on May 23, 2015, in Okemos, Mich. 


Faculty Awards and Honors

Professor Thom Jayne was named MSU Foundation Professor.  (See story in this issue.)


Assistant Professor Milu Muyanga and Phillip Musyoka were awarded the 2014 Outstanding Publication Prize by the Journal of Poverty Alleviation and International Development for their article, “Household Incomes and Poverty Dynamics in Rural Kenya: A Panel Data Analysis” (Volume 5, Number 2, 2014).  


Assistant Professor David Ortega received from the Journal of Agribusiness in Developing and Emerging Economies its Outstanding Paper Award of 2014 for “Agricultural Marketing and Food Safety in China: A Utility Perspective.”


At the AFRE annual faculty and staff meeting May 15, the following departmental awards were given:

2015 Award for Excellence in Teaching: R. Brent Ross.

2015 Award for Excellence in Research: Soren Anderson.

2015 Award for Excellence in Extension Outreach: H. Christopher Peterson.

2015 Lifetime Service Award: Nancy Creed,


Student News

In April 2015 elections, the AFRE Graduate Student Organization elected Sarah Kopper as president, Hamza Haider as vice president and Nathaly Rivera as secretary/treasurer.


Incoming M.S. student Sarah Klammer made statewide news by completing her bachelor’s degree in economics from Saginaw Valley State University and graduating from high school at the same time in May 2015.


Student Awards and Honors

Eleanor Turner won the department’s Best M.S. Thesis Award of 2014 for “Determinants of Crop Diversification among Mozambican Smallholders: Evidence from Household Panel Date” (major professor: E. Crawford). 


Sangjun Lee won the department’s Best Ph.D. Dissertation Award of 2014 for “Adaptations to Climate Change: Extreme Events Versus Gradual Changes” (major professors: S. Thornsbury and J. Zhao).


At the 2015 AFRE Graduate Research Symposium, March 19-20, 2015, three presenters won awards:

  •   Marie Steele for Best Presentation of Research at the Idea Stage.
  •   Ayala Wineman for Best Presentation of Research in Progress.
  •   Serge Adjognon for Best Presentation of Completed Research.

Did you find this article useful?