Is your community redevelopment ready?

Community leaders - Now is the time to get engaged in the redevelopment ready process.

The Redevelopment Ready Communities® (RRC) Program is a state-wide certification program that assists communities in becoming development ready and competitive in today’s economy through the Michigan Economic Development Corporation (MEDC).

RRC encourages communities to adopt and implement redevelopment strategies that aid in building confidence among businesses and developers. Through the RRC program, local municipalities receive assistance in establishing a solid foundation for development in their communities, ultimately making them more attractive for investments that create places were people want to live, work and play.

Upon engagement in the program, communities undergo a rigorous assessment and then work to achieve a set of criteria laid out in the RRC best practices. There are six best practices and each one address key elements of community and economic development and set the standard to attain certification:

  1. Community Plans and Public Outreach
  2. Zoning Regulations
  3. Development Review Process
  4. Recruitment and Education
  5. Redevelopment Ready Sites®
  6. Community Prosperity

Certification is achieved by aligning with these best practices and tapping into local residents and business owners to create a plan for the future of the community.

The practices allow communities to build a tactful and consistent development process from the inside out. While going through the process, communities are assisted by an advisory council that guides development, provides feedback on the community assessments and considers new opportunities to enhance the program.

Along with assistance from the MEDC these communities receive input from multiple experts working in the field, tapping into a broader pool of talent. The timeliness of RRC certification is dependent on the number of communities in the RRC pipeline at a given time along with the completeness of the information submitted by the community.  

In the end, RRC certification formally recognizes communities for being proactive and business friendly. It is evident that certified communities signal they have effective development practices such as well-defined development procedures, a community supported vision, an open and predictable review process and enticing sites for developers. MEDC provides their support, consultation, training and assistance to the certified communities in marketing their top redevelopment sites. Ultimately these sites are appealing because they are located within a community that has effective policies, efficient processes and broad community support.

Communities looking to take proactive steps for development and investment are encouraged to attend the Michigan Economic Development Corporation’s Redevelopment Ready Communities Best Practice trainings. Spring 2017 RRC Best Practice training schedule has been announced : Find a location near you

MSU Extension has had a unique relationship with the regional economic development organization NLEA for more than 20 years. Recognizing the strength of combining resources, this partnership focuses on economic development, entrepreneurship growth and community infrastructure throughout a four-county region in the northwest Lower Peninsula, specifically Antrim, Charlevoix, Cheboygan and Emmet counties. As a result, the NLEA utilizes resources offered through MSU Extension as it provides leadership to state-wide programs sponsored by MSU Extension. 

Additional articles in this series: 

Did you find this article useful?

You Might Also Be Interested In