Extension offers manager level ServSafe certification

Michigan requires that each food establishment that sells food to the public have at least one certified food safety manager.

Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development and your local health departments work hard to make sure safe food is prepared and served in restaurants and other food establishments. Michigan State University Extension also helps by offering a national food safety certification program called ServSafe Manager training statewide. This training is for those serving food to the public or who want to make themselves more employable by getting this managers certification.

Michigan food establishments that serve food to the public are required to have a certified manager under section 29 of the food law, 2000PA92, MCL 289.2129. Food establishments are to continually employ at least one certified manger per establishment. This certified manger must be a full-time employee of the establishment.

A manager’s certification must be renewed every five years. If you are soon due to renew your certification or you want to make yourself more employable by obtaining a ServSafe Managers certificate then you will be interested in ServSafe classes offered by MSU Extension. On the Extension website you will find many ServSafe classes that are offered all over the state.

Topics covered in the ServSafe Managers training:
  • The importance of food safety
  • Good personal hygiene
  • Time and temperature control
  • Preventing cross-contamination
  • Cleaning and sanitizing
  • Safe food preparation
  • Receiving and storing food
  • Methods of thawing, cooking, cooling and reheating food

These topics are covered in both the eight and the 16 hour classes offered by Michigan State University food safety educators. The difference between the two classes are simply that with the 16 hour class more time is spent on the material that is in the Food Safety Managers ServSafe book, used during class. The 16 hour class is especially helpful to those who have never taken the class and the exam. Those who are recertifying, which is required every five years, often choose to take the eight hour class to get a quick overview of the above topics and any new food safety requirements.

Participants in ServSafe classes take a 90 question exam. They must pass with a 75 percent in order to receive their national ServSafe certificate. Research has shown that those food establishments who have a certified food safety manager have fewer food borne illness outbreaks.

Did you find this article useful?