Outstanding Michigan 4-H alumni, volunteers and partners recognized at 4-H Emerald Awards ceremony

Nineteen Michigan 4-H alumni and volunteers were recognized Oct. 5 during the Michigan 4-H Foundation’s 4-H Emerald Award Ceremony in East Lansing.

2018 Emerald Award recipients
The Michigan 4-H Foundation hosted the 4-H Emerald Awards on Oct. 5. Pictured are honorees, front (L to R): Tiffany Spedowski, Cheryl Barton, Dale and Sara Stuby, Gretna Van Fleet and Barbara Haynes Heyboer. Back (L to R): Diane Keinath, Mary Hutka, Gordon Ridenour, Barbara Alverson, Kathy Grau, Ronald Hendrick, Mary Hammer, Sen. Darwin Booher, Melissa Humphrey, W.G. (Mac) McPherson, Melissa Rogers, Domonique Clemons, Maggie Sans and Tom Nugent.

Nineteen Michigan 4-H alumni and volunteers were recognized Oct. 5 during the Michigan 4-H Foundation’s 4-H Emerald Awards Ceremony in East Lansing. The awards presented at the event are among some of Michigan 4-H’s highest honors for 4-H alumni, volunteers and partners.

The 4-H Citation Awards, the highest recognition presented by Michigan 4-H, recognizes significant contributions to Michigan 4-H programs, were awarded to GreenStone Farm Credit Services and Dale and Sara Stuby, of St. Joseph  County.

The Michigan 4-H Emerald Clover Society honors former alumni whose professional leadership and community service reflect the ultimate outcome of 4-H membership. Inducted into the society were Darwin Booher, Evart; Domonique Clemons, Flint; Ronald Hendrick, East Lansing; Barbara Haynes Heyboer, Hudsonville; W. G. (Mac) McPherson, Lowell; Thomas Nugent, Clarksville; Maggie Sans, Clarkston; and Gretna Van Fleet, Frankenmuth.

The 4-H Salute to Excellence Awards, which honor remarkable 4-H volunteers who have contributed substantially to both their county and state 4-H programs, were presented to Brenda Alverson of Genesee County, Gordon Ridenour of Cass County and Cheryl Barton of Shiawassee County.

The Michigan Farm Bureau 4-H Excellence in Agriculture Awards, which recognize 4-H volunteers who exhibit excellence in 4-H youth education and leadership in agriculture-related areas, were presented to Mary Hutka of Oakland County, Diane Keinath of Saginaw County, and Kathy Grau and Mary Hammer of Washtenaw County. 

The 4-H Emerald Awards Ceremony was emceed by State Sen. Judy Emmons, a Montcalm County 4-H alumna and 2014 4-H Emerald Clover Society inductee. The awards are provided by Michigan 4-H Youth Development with support from the Michigan 4-H Foundation. Learn more about the 4-H Emerald Awards.

The Michigan 4-H Foundation is a 501 (c)(3) non-profit organization that supports Michigan 4-H Youth Development. For more information about the Michigan 4-H Foundation, visit www.mi4hfdtn.org. Michigan 4-H Youth Development is the youth-serving program of Michigan State University Extension. More than 209,000 youth are involved in 4-H with the support of 16,000 adult volunteers. For more information about Michigan 4-H, visit www.4h.msue.msu.edu.

Did you find this article useful?

Other Articles from this Publication

Other Articles in this Series