For decorative purposes.

Select Planning and Zoning Decisions 2022


June 21, 2022 - <>,

Published Cases

This document reports cases from Michigan courts of record (Appeals Courts, Michigan Supreme Court), or federal courts that have precedential value (Appeals Court [specially the 6th Circuit Court of Appeals], United States Supreme Court). Michigan Circuit, District court cases; federal district court cases are generally not reported here.

Typically, a federal district court’s interpretation of state law (as opposed to federal law) is not binding on state courts, although state courts may adopt their reasoning as persuasive. The U.S. Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals takes the position that a federal district court decision is binding precedent in future cases in the same court until reversed, vacated, or disapproved by a superior court, overruled by the court that made it, or rendered irrelevant by changes in the positive law. Given the geography of federal district courts in Michigan, U.S. District court rulings may apply only in certain parts of Michigan.

  • United States District Court for the Eastern District of Michigan (roughly the east half of the lower peninsula):
    • The Northern Division (located in Bay City) comprises the counties of Alcona, Alpena, Arenac, Bay, Cheboygan, Clare, Crawford, Gladwin, Gratiot, Huron, Iosco, Isabella, Midland, Montmorency, Ogemaw, Oscoda, Otsego, Presque Isle, Roscommon, Saginaw, and Tuscola. 
    • The Southern Division (located in Ann Arbor, Detroit, Flint, and Port Huron) comprises the counties of Genesee, Jackson, Lapeer, Lenawee, Livingston, Macomb, Monroe, Oakland, Saint Clair, Sanilac, Shiawassee, Washtenaw, and Wayne.
  • United States District Court for the Western District of Michigan (roughly the west half of the lower peninsula and the Upper Peninsula):
    • The Northern Division (located in Marquette and Sault Sainte Marie) comprises the counties of Alger, Baraga, Chippewa, Delta, Dickinson, Gogebic, Houghton, Iron, Keweenaw, Luce, Mackinac, Marquette, Menominee, Ontonagon, and Schoolcraft.
    • The Southern Division (located in Grand Rapids, Kalamazoo, Lansing, and Traverse City) comprises the counties of Allegan, Antrim, Barry, Benzie, Berrien, Branch, Calhoun, Cass, Charlevoix, Clinton, Eaton, Emmet, Grand Traverse, Hillsdale, Ingham, Ionia, Kalamazoo, Kalkaska, Kent, Lake, Leelanau, Manistee, Mason, Mecosta, Missaukee, Montcalm, Muskegon, Newaygo, Oceana, Osceola, Ottawa, Saint Joseph, Van Buren, and Wexford.



Accessibility Questions:

For questions about accessibility and/or if you need additional accommodations for a specific document, please send an email to ANR Communications & Marketing at