Map of Michigan, denoting the 14 MSU Extension districts, 4 land grant institutions, and tribal nations.

Tribal Nations and Land Grant Institutions in Michigan


February 16, 2022 - <>,

In the state of Michigan, there are 12 federally-recognized Tribal Nations that span 7 corresponding Michigan State University (MSU) Extension districts. There are also 4 land grant institutions in Michigan, including Keweenaw Bay Ojibwa Community College, Bay Mills Community College, Saginaw Chippewa Tribal College and Michigan State University.

MSU Extension District 1

  • Lac Vieux Desert Chippewa Tribe
  • Keweenaw Bay Chippewa Tribe
    • Keweenaw Bay Ojibwa Community College (KBOCC)
  • Hannahville Potawatomi Tribe

MSU Extension District 2

  • Bay Mills Chippewa Indian Community
    • Bay Mills Community College (BMCC)
  • Sault Ste Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians

MSU Extension District 3

  • Grand Traverse Band of Ottawa/Chippewa Indians
  • Little River Band of Ottawa Indians

MSU Extension District 6

  • Saginaw Chippewa Tribe
    • Saginaw Chippewa Tribal College

MSU Extension District 7

  • Match-e-be-nash-she-wish Band of Potawatomi Indians of Michigan (Gun Lake)

MSU Extension District 13

  • Pokagon Band of Potawatomi Indians
  • Huron Band of Potawatomi Indians

MSU Extension District 14

  • Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians



Accessibility Questions:

For questions about accessibility and/or if you need additional accommodations for a specific document, please send an email to ANR Communications & Marketing at