

July 20, 2016

TO: Staff in the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources (CANR)

FR: CANR Staff Advisory Committee (SAC): Chris Kapp (chair), Terri Badgley, Tristan Foster,

Sandie Litchfield, David Main, Heather Miller, Julie Moore, Colin Phillippo, Sharon Reasoner,

Ellen Schueller, Rene Wilson, and Kris Hynes as CANR Dean's Office Liaison

RE: Accomplishments for July 2015 to June 2016

The Staff Advisory Committee for the Dean of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources has completed another successful and productive year. "Staff" is defined as APSA, APA, CTU, 1585/999, Off-campus and farm managers. On average, there are over 600 staff in these categories. Formally organized in 2003, the individuals elected to the SAC committee are charged with addressing issues, concerns and opportunities on behalf of staff in CANR through direct communication to the Dean. This year, the committee welcomed our newest members Tristan Foster (Zone 4) and Heather Miller (Zone 3).

SAC Website

We continue to increase visibility and enhance communication by upgrading our website. A big thanks to SAC Committee Member Colin Phillippo who has worked with ANR techs to update our website. Be sure to check it out at: http://www.canr.msu.edu/faculty_staff/sac.

CANR's College Advisory Committee (CAC)

SAC Co-Chair Terri Badgley represented all College support staff on the Dean's Search and Rating Committee. This ensured staff engagement in the Dean search process, which is now completed, and Dean Ron Hendrick joined CANR on July 1, 2016.

MEMBERS OF THE 2015 CANR DEAN SEARCH COMMITTEE

CANR Faculty Members
CANR Faculty Members

Rique Campa (FW) – Search Committee Chair

Deb McCullough (ENT/FOR)

Gale Strasburg (FSHN)

Mary Hausbeck (PSM)

Pat Norris (CSUS/AFRE)

1 dt 1401113 (C503/711112

Randy Beaudry (HRT)

Sinem Korkmaz (SPDC)

Laurant Matuana (PKG)

Jianguo Lu (FW)

Chairs and School Directors Representative

Janice Swanson (ANS)

Terri Badgley

Staff Advisory Committee Representative

MSU Extension Representative

Dennis Pennington

Student Representatives

Emmalee Blough: Undergraduate student (FSHN) Deborah Velez-Irizarry: Graduate student (ANS)

Dean Representative

John Baker (CVM)

Chair of the Stakeholders Advisory Council

Philip Korson (President – Cherry Marketing Institute)

External Advisory Members

Al Bolles, ConAgra Foods

Rob Horsch, Gates Foundation

Monthly SAC Meetings

The SAC team primarily meets by Zoom webinar technology. Nothing beats a face-to-face meeting, which happens occasionally, but meeting online is a timesaver we've come to appreciate, especially in view of the distance some of our members have to travel to attend meetings on campus. The committee has also reduced the number of meetings to nine per year instead of monthly, as attendance in summer months is difficult due to vacations and ag-related job responsibilities that are in full-swing in the summer. The committee uses email during the summer months if something pressing develops.

Events

The committee planned several successful events we'd like to highlight. They included:

- December 2015 CANR Toys for Tots Drive. We are excited to share with you the total number of toys
 collected for the Toys for Tots Drive this year was 522! We also received \$600 in monetary donations. Since
 the CANR Staff Advisory Committee first started collecting for Toys for Tots in 2010, we have collected a
 total of 2671 toys and \$1,930! Thank you, everyone, for your generosity. We made the holidays much
 brighter for many, many local families.
- January 2016 The SAC distributed complimentary tickets to staff members for January and February
 Michigan State University women's basketball games. A strong interest in these games quickly depleted our
 share of tickets. Great family fun!
- April 13, 2016 CANR, MSU AgBioResearch, MSU Extension, the CANR College Advisory Council, and CANR SAC hosted a Spring indoor picnic at the Pavilion, combining this annual SAC event with the annual CANR Faculty and Staff Awards reception. Annual recognition awards were presented to faculty and staff. Faculty and staff were released from work to be able to attend this important recognition event which provided an opportunity to network with colleagues.

CANR Outstanding Service Awards

The Outstanding Service Awards given for 2016 are listed below. The award winners received a plaque along with a monetary stipend. The winners included:

- Outstanding Staff Award Recipients were: Judy Lentz Bishop, Kelli Kolasa
- Outstanding Team Award One team award is given out annually and recipients this year were from the AgBioResearch Director's Office. The team included: Carolyn Adams, Lori Bramble, James Dau, Jackie DeSander, Tonia DuMont, Linda Haubert, Bill Humphrey, Cameron Rudolph, Holly Whetstone.
- Monthly Staffer of the Month Awards July 2015- June 2016

 Those recipients were:
 - July Pat Daughenbaugh
 - August Ian Ball
 - September Betsy Braid
 - October Kraig Ehm
 - o November Rachel Kramer
 - o December Emma Ulrich
 - January Heather Lenartson-Kluge
 - February Vanessa Pollok
 - o March Arthur Cooper
 - o April Marcia Baar
 - o May Lori Trailer
 - o June Julie Mack

SAC Members – Vacancies and Elections

The Staff Advisory Committee would like to express appreciation to out-going members Terri Badgley, Christian Kapp, Sandie Litchfield and Ellen Schueller. We also welcome new members Kathryn Reed (Zone 1), Jackie DeSander (Zone 5), Michelle McLain (Zone 1) and Mackenzie Martin (Zone 2) who will begin their terms starting in September 2016.

SAC Members

Save the Date – Wednesday, April 19, 2017 (from 11 AM to approximately 2 PM) for the annual Staff Awards Reception