Regional Planning Act


June 1, 2016

The Regional Planning Act is the enabling statute for creation of regional planning commissions. There are currently 14 in Michigan, each multiple county regions. (Some are established as Council of Governments). It is possible to have regional planning for a smaller area, such as a group of municipalities. 


Accessibility Questions:

For questions about accessibility and/or if you need additional accommodations for a specific document, please send an email to ANR Communications & Marketing at