External Advisory Committee

The role of the External Advisory Committee (EAC) is to provide rigorous oversight of the long-term quality of the scientific output, productivity and overall performance of CRIS. The EAC is comprised of scientific leaders from industry, academia, government and non-governmental organizations with relevant experience. The EAC composition ensures that CRIS functions in a scientifically sound and objective manner to protect the program’s autonomy and independence from any one sectors interests, to ensure a balance of interests across all stakeholders, and to ensure that objectivity and the program’s credibility are always maintained. The EAC also provides advice to the CRIS Director on research, publication strategies, and outreach and communications activities. The EAC meets monthly via teleconference to solicit, discuss and prioritize emerging issues. The EAC also meets face-to-face at least once a year – usually at the CRIS Annual Meeting.

Industry members of the EAC are elected by the CRIS members. Non-industry members of the EAC are appointed by the CRIS Internal Advisory Committee (IAC). All members of the EAC serve on a limited and rotating term basis ensuring that no one person or entity has undue influence over CRIS while also ensuring continuity.

External Advisory Committee Members

    • Leon Bruner
    • Senior Vice President, Grocery Manufacturers Association
    • Suzanne Fitzpatrick
    • Senior Science Policy Advisor, Center for Food Safety and Nutrition, Food and Drug Administration
    • A. Wallace Hayes
    • Visiting Faculty, Harvard University; Adjunct Professor, University of South Florida, College of Public Health
    • Dennis Keefe
    • Director, Office of Food Additive Safety, Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition, U.S. Food and Drug Administration
    • Steve Mavity
    • Senior Vice President, Technical Services & Corporate Quality, Bumble Bee Foods
    • Robert Sills
    • Chief, Cellular & Molecular Pathology Branch and Acting Molecular Pathology Group Leader, National Toxicology Program, NIEHS
    • Kate Thiel
    • Field Crops and Advisory Team Specialist, Michigan Farm Bureau
    • David Tonucci
    • Vice President, Global Regulatory & Scientific Affairs, Tate & Lyle
Michigan State University Michigan State University Close Menu button Menu and Search button Open Close