Using the Teams Video Call Toolbar

An explanation of the icons in the Teams Video Call toolbar. Video calls and video meetings have slightly different toolbars.

Upon entering a Teams Video Meeting, the toolbar will be located on the bottom of the screen in the middle. The toolbar contains the following options:

''

  1. Meeting Time Log: This time counts the duration of the call.
  2. Show/Mute Video: This allows the user to show or hide their webcam video.
  3. Show/Mute Audio: This allows a user to turn their microphone on or off in the call.
  4. Share Screen: This allows you to share your screen with other participants.
  5. Additional Options: This shows additional options available in the call.
    1. Show Device Settings: This allows you to review and adjust your video source, audio source, etc.
    2. Enter Full Screen: This removes the tabs to the left for chat, teams, etc. as well as the window making the call take up your entire screen.
    3. Hold: This places a call on hold so you can respond to another demand on your attention.
    4. Transfer: This allows you to transfer your Teams call to another user.
    5. Consult then Transfer: This allows you speak to another user before you transfer a call to them.
    6. Show Background Effects: This allows you to add a blur or a virtual background to your video on the call. You can select from the options listed.
      1. To add your own images in Windows, copy address listed below and paste it into a File Explorer window. You can then add your photos to the Uploads folder.
        %AppData%\Microsoft\Teams\Backgrounds
      2. To add your own images in Mac, copy the address listed below and paste it into a Finder window. You can then add your photos to the Uploads folder.
        ~/Library/Application Support/Microsoft/Teams/Backgrounds
    7. Keypad: Allows you to dial numbers when number tones are necessary.
    8. Start Recording: This allows you to start and stop recording of the call.
    9. Turn Off Incoming Video: This will force all participants to enter the call with their video turned off.
  6. Chat: This will show the text chat for call participants. This chat information will remain in the chat after the video call has ended.
  7. View/Manage Participants: This shows a list of everyone who is currently in the call. This also allows you to add users to your call.
  8. End Call: This ends the call for you personally. This does not end the call for everyone unless it is a one-on-one call.

Did you find this article useful?


You Might Also Be Interested In