ANS Graduate Student Awards 2019

Congratulations to our 2019 Graduate Student Awards recipients!

slide - congratulations

The Animal Science Graduate Student awards were presented April 19, 2019. Presenting the awards were Almudena Veiga-Lopez, Graduate Student Affairs and Curriculum Committee Chair, and Cathy Ernst, ANS Associate Chair for Graduate Training and Research.

The awards for the Outstanding Master’s Student and Ph.D. Student are based on academic performance, scholarly activities, service to the department, college and university and service to the greater community. Students chosen for these awards are all-around exceptional students. To qualify for the Master’s award, a student must be at least one year into their program, and to qualify for the Ph.D. award, the student must have completed the comprehensive exam.

Emily Middleton
The Outstanding MS Student is Emily Middleton (advisor Richard Pursley)
Carly Omalley
The Outstanding PhD Student is Dr. Carly O'Malley (advisor Janice Siegford)

The outstanding teaching award is given to a student who has devoted significant time to the development and delivery of classroom material.

Abby Pritchard
The Outstanding Teaching Award recipient is Abby Pritchard (advisor Brian Nielsen)

The Jacob (Jake) A. Hoefer Endowed Fellowship in Animal Science is a one-time cash award of at least $2,000 to recognize an outstanding PhD candidate in the Department of Animal Science.

The purpose is to encourage competitiveness for future employment of PhD candidates in Animal Science. Applicants must apply for a position in their area of interest and present an interview seminar to an Evaluation Committee. The format for the seminar is similar to that required during an interview for a position in the applicant’s area of expertise.

Eligible students must have passed their comprehensive exams and be a PhD candidate in the Department of Animal Science. (Students who have already won the award are not eligible.)

Applicants are evaluated on their competitiveness for the position for which they are applying based upon their academic record, scholarly activity, cover letter, curriculum vita, presentation and answers to questions.

The Jacob A. Hoefer Award recipient is Katie Kennedy (advisor Mike Allen)

Katie Kennedy
The Jacob A. Hoefer Award recipient is Katie Kennedy (advisor Mike Allen)


Did you find this article useful?