Policy Brief on Synthesis Report IV: Strengthening Locally Led Agricultural Policy Analysis Capacity: Lessons from Experience

DOWNLOAD FILE

Author: , , , , , , , , , , and

About this Brief

Agricultural policies affect almost everyone in the world, directly or indirectly. Improvements in agricultural policy analysis capacity can therefore significantly benefit society. Based on the Synthesis Report IV, this brief summarizes lessons learned from the Food Security Policy Innovation Lab’s capacity strengthening efforts over the 2013-2018 period and from related capacity development initiatives conducted over the last four decades by the partner institutions in Africa and Asia. “Capacity” is defined as the resources required for people and institutions to reach their objectives and achieve results in an efficient and sustainable manner. Capacity development is therefore the process of enhancing, improving, and unleashing such resources – in people, organizations, and systems. In this report, the term “locally led” refers to institutions registered in the host country, led by nationals of the host-country and often, but not necessarily, affiliated with a public university or government unit in the host country.

Few governments or development partners want to fund research for its own sake. Most funders of agricultural policy analysis capacity are ultimately interested in policy impact, which involves much more than just developing local capacity for policy analysis. Therefore, this Policy Brief and the full report takes a holistic approach to capacity development with the aim of improving evidence-based policy guidance and policy impact.

[To read the complete report click on the "download file" button]

DOWNLOAD FILE

Tags: capacity building, cross-country, feed the future innovation lab for food security policy


Related Topic Areas

Cross-country, C4b, C4a, C1-C2


Authors

Thomas Jayne

Thomas Jayne
jayne@msu.edu

Suresh Babu

Suresh Babu
S.Babu@cgiar.org

Duncan Boughton

Duncan Boughton
boughton@msu.edu

Sheryl Hendriks

Sheryl Hendriks
Sheryl.Hendriks@up.ac.za

Elizabeth Mkandawire

Elizabeth Mkandawire
elimka23@gmail.com

Ferdi Meyer

Ferdi Meyer
Ferdi.Meyer@up.ac.za

John M. Staatz

John M. Staatz
staatz@msu.edu

Saweda Liverpool-Tasie

Saweda Liverpool-Tasie
lliverp@msu.edu

Eric Crawford

Eric Crawford
crawfor5@msu.edu

Paul Dorosh

Paul Dorosh
P.Dorosh@cgiar.org

Kimsey Savadogo

Kimsey Savadogo
k.savadogo@cgiar.org


For more information visit:

Feed the Future Innovation Lab for Food Security Policy

Accessibility Questions:

For questions about accessibility and/or if you need additional accommodations for a specific document, please send an email to ANR Communications & Marketing at anrcommunications@anr.msu.edu.