Undergraduate Advisors

You don’t have to navigate your degree alone! The College of Agriculture and Natural Resources (CANR) has a team of experienced advisors who can help guide you through a major to graduation.

If you're not sure which major in CANR is for you or are an Exploratory Major student, contact Dorcia Chaison, in CANR's Office of Academic and Student Affairs, at 517-355-0234 as your initial advisor. You can also stop by the Justin S. Morrill Hall of Agriculture, Room 121.

If you're changing your major or minor in the CANR, please set up a follow-up appointment with your academic advisor by email or through msu.campus.eab.com.

Interdisciplinary Programs

  • Bailey Scholars Program: Dustin Petty (pettydus@msu.edu), 517-432-0732
  • Residential Initiative on the Study of the Environment (RISE): Laurie Thorp, (thorpl@msu.edu), 517-432-4944
  • Sustainable Agriculture and Food Systems: Julie Cotton, (cottonj@msu.edu), 517-353-0156

CANR Majors

Agribusiness Management

Susan DeRosa, (derosa@msu.edu), 517-884-8976

Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources Education

Animal Science

Jessica Kiesling (jessicak@msu.edu), 517-353-4570

Biosystems Engineering

Hannah Brodhead (brodhead@egr.msu.edu), 517-884-8796

Construction Management

Jennifer Knowles (knowle39@msu.edu), 517-353-0862

Crop and Soil Sciences

Susan Gruber (grubers@msu.edu), 517-353-0326

Dietetics

Linda Summers (summer24@msu.edu), 517-353-3322

Entomology

Amanda Lorenz (lorenzam@msu.edu), 517-355-4061

Environmental Economics and Management

Susan DeRosa, (derosa@msu.edu), 517-884-8976

Environmental Studies and Sustainability

Fisheries and Wildlife

Jim Schneider (schne181@msu.edu), 517-353-9091

Food Industry Management

Ruthi Bloomfield (bloomf19@msu.edu), 517-432-5298

Food Science

Jeff Swada (swadajef@msu.edu), 517-884-5993

Forestry

Justin Kunkle (kunkleju@msu.edu), 517-355-0090

Horticulture

Susan Gruber (grubers@msu.edu), 517-353-0326

Interior Design

Susan DeRosa, (derosa@msu.edu), 517-432-3397

Landscape Architecture

Susan DeRosa, (derosa@msu.edu), 517-432-3397

Nutritional Sciences

Jennifer Ekstrom (ekstrom@msu.edu), 517-353-3317

Packaging

Aaron Tucker (tucker68@msu.edu), 517-353-9580

Sustainable Parks, Recreation and Tourism

Michigan State University Michigan State University Close Menu button Menu and Search button Open Close