Excellence in Graduate Student Teaching Award

The College of Agriculture and Natural Resources Excellence in Graduate Student Teaching Award is meant to recognize graduate students who have distinguished themselves by the nurturing academic environment they provide and the skill they have shown in teaching. The essential purpose of the citation is to bring college-wide recognition to the best student instructors and to recognize the contribution they make to undergraduate programs within CANR.

Nominations & Eligibility

Nominations are made by faculty members. To be nominated for a CANR Excellence-In Graduate Student Teaching Citation, the graduate student must have taught at least one semester while a graduate student at MSU. The nominee must have assumed a significant measure of responsibility for teaching undergraduate courses, whether in lecture, recitation or laboratory sections. Special tutorial or seminar teaching will also be recognized by the citation committee.

To verify that a nominee meets the award criteria, the committee looks for: (1) demonstrable evidence of dedication to instruction through experimentation and successful implementation of innovative techniques and/or contribution to the scholarship of teaching and learning, and (2) evidence of excellence in instruction as demonstrated by the impact on students' careers and colleagues' teaching/advising practices.

Award recipients will be honored each spring with a citation and a $1,000 award. This award may be received only once.

Nomination forms and instructions (PDF)

Deadline to Apply

The deadline for the receipt of application materials is March 1, 2021. Email one (1) PDF copy of the nomination packet and form to Lisa Duffey at lduffey@msu.edu with the subject line: Excellence in Graduate Student Teaching Award.

Please contact Dr. Kelly Millenbah with questions or concerns at millenba@msu.edu or 517-355-0234.

Past Recipients

  • Tracy Melvin (FW, 2020)
  • Carly O'Malley (ANS, 2019)
  • Corrine Higley (FW, 2017)
  • Julie Plasencia (FSHN, 2016)
  • Amanda Lorenz (ENT, 2015)
  • Michael Everett (CARRS, 2011)
  • Robert Montgomery (FW, 2010)