AFRE Faculty and Staff news - Summer 2013

Faculty and staff news from the Department of Agriculture, Food and Resource Economics

August 27, 2013

Steve Hanson was named interim dean of MSU International Studies and Programs (ISP), effective Sept. 1, 2013.  He continues as department chairperson.

Lindon Robison was named AFRE associate chairperson to assist with department administration while Steve Hanson is interim dean of ISP.

Jordan Chamberlin (Ph.D., Michigan State, 2013) transitioned on June 1, 2013, to assistant professor, international development, stationed in Lusaka, Zambia.

Cloé Garnache (Ph.D., University of California at Davis, 2013) joined MSU Aug. 1 as a tenure system assistant professor working on economics of water and environment. 

John Jones (M.S., Iowa State) returned as a specialist to Telfarm in July 2013 after many years of dairy farming.  John was previously Telfarm director 10 years. His other experience includes working for the Illinois Farm Business Farm Management Association. 

Nicole M. Mason (Ph.D., Michigan State, 2011) on Aug. 16, 2013, moved from a fixed-term to tenure system assistant professor focusing on development economics and political economy.

Milu Mulanga (Ph.D., Michigan State, 2013) transitioned on June 15, 2013, to assistant professor, international development, based on campus.

Tom Pierson, professor emeritus, was elected into the Meat Industry Hall of Fame and will be inducted Oct. 19 in Chicago.  He joins Jack Allen, who was honored in 2011.

Maria Porter (Ph.D., Chicago, 2007) shifted Aug. 16, 2013, from scholar to assistant professor focusing on development economics, intrahousehold distribution and microeconomics.


Faculty Awards

At the AFRE Annual Faculty Meeting May 21, 2013, the following awards were made:

Excellence in Teaching Award : Lindon Robison

Excellence in Research Award : Christopher Wolf

Excellence in Outreach Award : Mark Skidmore

Excellence in Service Award : Eric Crawford        


Student Awards and Honors

Ashesh Prasann was elected president of the AFRE Graduate Student Organization for 2013-14.

Serge Adjognon was elected vice president of the AFRE Graduate Student Organization for 2013-14.

MSU’s student National Agri-Marketing Association (NAMA) team was awarded third place for the Outstanding Student Chapter Award at NAMA’s 2013 convention, April 17-19 in Kansas City.  The team also took home the fourth place John Deere Signature Award.  Both awards recognize the student chapter’s ability to promote and encourage student opportunities for increased business knowledge, academic excellence, leadership development and community citizenship.  In the key Student Marketing Competition, the MSU team placed fifth,  reaching the finals for the third time in four years.  Members of the MSU student NAMA team in Kansas City were agribusiness management majors Sarah Michalek, Beth Wernette, Charles Loveland, Richard Southward, Tyler Hoopes, David Houghtaling, Elizabeth Wittenbach and Andrew Martin, and food industry management major Amanda Flegal.  Laura Cheney is faculty adviser to the MSU student NAMA team. 

Michigan State University Michigan State University Close Menu button Menu and Search button Open Close