Landscape Architecture students received 2016 awards and scholarships

In 2016, 32 students from the LA Program received awards from the Michigan chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects (MI ASLA), and program endowments and scholarships.

June 19, 2017

Michigan State University Landscape Archititecure students.

In 2016, 32 students from the Landscape Architecture Program in the School of Planning, Design and Construction received awards from the Michigan chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects (MI ASLA), and program endowments and scholarships.

2016 MI ASLA Awards

The MI ASLA honor and merit awards are presented to MSU students who demonstrate the highest level of academic scholarship and accomplishments in skills related to the art and technology of landscape architecture.

Honor Award Recipients

  • Nicholas Blok                                                  
  • Cameron Robinson                               

Merti Award

  • Xiao (Mike) Hou
  • Cresha Wee

National Student Advisory Committee

Abigail Reimel named to the National Student Advisory Committee to the board of Trustees of ASLA, and passed the LEED GA exam to become a LEED Green Associate through the U.S. Green Building Council.

Spring 2016 Landscape Architecture Scholarships

Landscape Architecture Endowment

These endowment scholarships are made possible by donors. The recipients were Brad Hornburg and Jacob Weiss.

Thomas K. and Sheila Moore Scholarship

Applicants for this scholarship must have composed a two-page essay that explains his/her perspective on the interdisciplinary nature of planning and design of vibrant and walkable communities, and how these apply to the planning and design ideals to the greater Lansing area. The scoring criteria to determine recipients was weighted as 60 percent for the essay, 20 percent for GPA and 20 percent for financial need. The recipient was Abigail Reimel.

Hamilton Anderson Scholarship

This scholarship allows for special consideration that is given to students with financial need and a desire to practice in urban communities within the U.S. The recipient was Arrianna Zannetti.

Kenneth and Shirely Polakowski Scholarship

This scholarship is given on the basis of academic achievement and financial need, with preference given to upper-class students and underrepresented groups. The recipients were Stephanie Onwenu and Rayshuan Landrum.

June Knostmas Scholarship

  • Xiaoyi (Cindy) Wang

William C. Kathryn Burgess Stenquist Landscape Architecture Scholarship

This scholarship is open to landscape architecture students and is awarded for academic achievement. Recipients are as follows:

Second Year

  • Harrison Boruszewski
  • Brandon Chaney
  • Allison Newbegin
  • Stephanie Onwenu
  • Yige Qu
  • Abigail Reimel
  • Wang Chi (Vincy) Tam
  • Sarah Van Dyke
  • Rachel Walsh
  • Xiaoyi (Cindy) Wang
  • Rachel Wilke
  • Jiabin Zhang

Third Year

  • Dexin Chen
  • Brad Hornburg
  • Rayshaun Landrum
  • Yinliang Li
  • Curtis Schaldach
  • Jacob Weiss
  • Cuiting Wu
  • Arianna Zannetti

Fourth Year

  • Nicholas Block
  • Brock Downs
  • Morgan Haffey
  • Xiao (Mike) Hou
  • Hanbing Liang
  • Collin Manns
  • Cole Mauti
  • Cameron Robinson
  • Aaron Senchuk
  • Xumei Wang
  • Cresha Wee
  • Haoxuan Xu
  • Yanzhi Xu

Please join us in congratulating these students on their awards!

Michigan State University Michigan State University Close Menu button Menu and Search button Open Close