Burkina Faso

Burkina Faso mapFormerly the Republic of Upper Volta, the country was renamed “Burkina Faso” in 1984. The words “Burkina” meaning “upright” and “Faso” meaning “fatherland.”

  • The capital and main city is Ouagadougou
  • The official language is French
  • Area: 105,900 sq mi (slightly larger than the State of Michigan)
  • Population approx. 20 million in 2017
  • Climate: The country has a primarily tropical climate with two very distinct seasons. 1) The rainy season where the country receives between 60 and 90 cm of rainfall 2) The dry season, the Harmattan – where a hot dry wind from the Sahara blows.

Fun Fact: Burkina Faso has a larger number of elephants than many countries in West Africa. Lions, leopards and buffalo can also be found here, including the dwarf or red buffalo.



Michigan State University Michigan State University Close Menu button Menu and Search button Open Close