West Africa / Sahel

  • map of west africa picWest Africa has been defined as including 17 countries: Benin, Burkina Faso, the island nation of Cape Verde, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, the islands of Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo
  • Area: 1,974,103 sq mi (approx. 20x the size of the State of Michigan)
  • Population approx. 362 million in 2016
  • Climate:  In West Africa there are four different climate regions which consists of humid, tropical, savanna, desert, and steppe.

Fun fact: The West African nation of Ghana is the second largest producer of cocoa in the world. West Africa is also home to Lake Volta, the world's largest artificial lake.

Publications and Presentations